On starting a gratitude journal

Every week or two I go see a therapist, because it’s a great touchstone for me. When I start to lose perspective, she can tell me that I am being just a little cray-cray. Today, I felt I got to the heart of some things by talking to her about how blocked I felt in trying to shift to more positivity. It’s so easy to focus on the negative when you’re stressed out.

She suggested I try a gratitude journal. It might take weeks or months of daily writing, she said, but just taking a few minutes each day to write down what I’m grateful for would, over time, shift my focus so that I thought more about the good and positive things. Less about the negative, the problems.

I won’t post about it here every day, because that would be cray-cray. But I thought I’d get started here.

Early this morning, as I read about baby milestones, I realized how grateful I am to have two healthy babies, reaching every milestone. Immense gratitude.

I have so much gratitude for this, in fact, that it has filled my cup for the day. Here’s hoping for more blinding moments of revelation and thanks, and that they become second nature.

One thought on “On starting a gratitude journal

Leave a Reply

