These Shining Faces On the Road

My friend Sonia asked me to participate in a “blog tour” in which I answer some questions about my writing process.  Sonia received the prompt from a friend, wrote her own response here:  http://dream2write.wordpress.com/2014/04/28/color-my-palate-on-the-road/, and passed it on to me.  I am supposed to pass it on as well, but I can’t think of any blogger friends, so if you see this and wanna write a blog, let me know. 😉

My Writing Process…

What am I working on?

I’m working exclusively on poetry.  I have never been much of a fiction writer, and don’t really try my hand at short stories or novels.  I feel like my brain isn’t necessarily wired to produce fiction.  I’m not great at fleshing out characters and writing dialogue.  Maybe I like to keep it vague and esoteric.  🙂  If I were to write something other than poetry, I think it might be essays.  I wouldn’t mind working with humor more.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I’m not sure whether it does or not.  I am very inspired by nature poets like Mary Oliver, and that theme shows up in my poetry a lot, but there are definitely more intellectual influences that refuse to be ignored.  🙂  I end up writing very introspective things about my own emotional journey, usually.  NaPoWriMo has been awesome.  It really forced me to branch out, learn new ways of writing, and pull writing out of my brain that I probably would not have, otherwise.

Why do I write what I do?

Hmmmm.  Good question.  The simplest answer is that I write what I do based on the things I have absorbed in the world, meaning the writing of others, and also my own experiences and everything else I have observed and processed.  As to a specific goal with what I write, I think each poem allows me to resolve a particular emotional/psychological/spiritual issue, to some degree.  I also hope, like any writer, that it will resonate with other people.

How does my writing process work?

Lately I have been starting with prompts and going from there.  When that’s not the case, usually, an idea for something I want to work on will more or less come to me out of the ether. Often, it comes with a few words or lines.  I start fleshing the idea out from there.  I like to mix it up in terms of how I get the writing down.  I tried carrying a tiny notebook, but more often than not, I start writing little scraps of poem on post-it notes.  Hot-pink ones.  🙂 Sometimes long walks help me work out poetry ideas, as well as whatever else I have going on in my head.  Sonia mentioned that she likes to watch well-made shows to get inspired, and I do the same with music.  Really great music reminds me why I want to be spending more of my time creating, and feeling like I’m doing something worthwhile with my life.

Leave a Reply

