NaPoWriMo, Day 27

Never, never,
never again,
would I take this for granted:
the power to shut out the world at night,
and stop having to think, for a time.

Do you realize that sleep is a miracle?

Maybe not, because it is so simple-
until you can’t.
I learned so many rituals to cross the threshold into that healing place,
but none of these work without faith.
I could not trust that the least little thing would work out,
and so how could I surrender into oblivion every night?

Do you realize that sleep is a miracle?

Oh, how I envied my lover, and for that matter, the dogs,
and everything else in the world that could sleep.
You can lose your mind after two nights with not one minute of pure, unconscious relief.
I drove my car, half-mad.
I pulled away from a gas station pump with the hose still in the gas tank,
and somehow survived to know rest again.

Do you realize that sleep is a miracle?

I believe in miracles, and I bless each night of sleep.

Leave a Reply

