Book Review: The Power of Now

The Power of NowThe Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I avoided reading this book for a long time. Anything that appears on Oprah is suspect. But, I got over myself and gave it a try, and am so glad I did. Simply put, this book was profound for me. Tolle explained mindfulness in a way that really reached me. I guess that is the mark of a great teacher, spiritual or otherwise-they explain concepts in a way that sounds really simple, but it gives you a total “aha!” moment. You wonder why you never understood such a simple idea before. The most obvious truths can be the most difficult to grasp.

I did not much enjoy “A New Earth,” but I think now that it was probably a mistake to read it first, and I may go back over it again. I do love the audio versions, as I’ve mentioned before, Tolle’s voice is ever-so-soothing.

Anyway, this is another excellent primer on mindfulness. Tolle gives amazing instruction as to how to incorporate mindfulness into your life, and thereby free yourself from the prison of your mind. One of his most helpful statements (which I carry around with me in an iPhone note) is, “If you find it hard to enter the Now directly, start by observing the habitual tendency of your mind to want to escape from the Now.” Wise words. Again, seems obvious…but I needed someone to tell me.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book Review: The Power of Now

  1. So glad you are enjoying it! Ever since I introduced my mom to Tolle and his teachings last year, she’s had some wonderfully profound insights. She introduced me to Deepak back when I was in college …. so I owed her one I guess! Eckhart is a most assuredly a bad dude that everyone should check out!

Leave a Reply

